Age-Friendly Communities

Within an age-friendly community, policies, services and structures related to the physical and social environment are designed to enable seniors to "age actively", i.e. live in safety, enjoy good health and continue to participate fully in society.

Within an age-friendly community, the policies, services, and structure related to the physical and social environments are designed to help seniors to actively age, meaning that they can live in a safe environment and benefit from their good health by continuing to fully participate in the community.
 
The goal of this project is to encourage town halls to subscribe to the network of Age-Friendly Communities by helping them to take initiative in promoting inclusivity in the following domains: outdoor spaces and buildings, transportation, housing, social participation, respect and social inclusion, civic participation and employment, communication and information, and community support and health services.

VADA_comite_coordination.pdf.png

In order to realize this inclusivity, our goal is to put facilitate the creation of small, age-friendly committees consisting of only a few people that can represent all ages and all segments of the population within francophone communities. These committees would then work with their town halls to ensure that their decisions and actions can align with the vision of being an Age-Friendly Community. You can download the Becoming an Age-Friendly Community guide here.

If you would like additional information on the Age-Friendly Community initiative, contact Éric at 306.653.7442 or by email at eric@vitalite55sk.ca

age friendly sask.png

Communautés Amies des Aînés

Au sein d’une collectivité-amie des aînés, les politiques, les services et les structures liés à l’environnement physique et social sont conçus de façon à permettre aux personnes seniors de « vieillir activement », c’est-à-dire de vivre en sécurité, de bénéficier d’une bonne santé et de continuer à participer pleinement à la société.

Ce projet a pour but d’encourager les mairies à adhérer au réseau Communauté Amie des Aînés en les aidant à prendre part à des initiatives inclusives dans les domaines suivants : Espaces extérieurs et immeubles – Transport – Logement – Participation sociale – Respect et inclusion sociale – Participation communautaire et possibilités d’emploi – Communication et information – Soutien communautaire et service de santé.

Pour cela, l’objectif est de mettre en place des petits comités Amis des Aînés de quelques personnes ou plus, représentatif de tous les âges et de tous les segments de la population, au sein des communautés francophones. Ensuite ces comités devront travailler avec les mairies pour faire en sorte qu’elles tendent à devenir une communauté Amie des Aînés dans leurs actions et prise de décisions.

 

Télécharger le manuel ‘’Devenir une collectivité Amie des Aînés’’

Si vous souhaitez des informations complémentaires sur l’initiative Communauté Amie des Aînés, contacter Éric au 306.653.7442 ou par courriel à eric@vitalite55sk.ca

age friendly sask.png